Icy architectural photography at the gateway to the Ore Mountains.

It was a great pleasure for me to implement the federal cluster of excellence in an elegant manner MERGE the Technical University of Chemnitz to be allowed to take pictures. The design from the feather of the recognized architecture office SWECO offers the lightweight technology center of the TU Chemnitz a new home. The focus of my photo shoot was the second construction phase with the administrative space as an extension on the south side of the test and research routes of the campus, which were completed in 2015.

Chemnitz in the morning frost

It was the first cold winter day at the end of November when I made my way to the Technical University in Chemnitz. Full of anticipation for the photo shoot for the 2nd construction phase of the MERGE, I drove towards dawn in a fresh -4 ° C and under a clear sky. With every kilometer that I approached the “Gate to the Ore Mountains”, the landscape changed more to a monochrome image of itself. Covered by a delicate layer of hoar frost, the stalks of the grass glittered in my headlights.

When the first rays of sunlight fell on the south facade of the new building, my camera stood on its tripod and froze the first motif of the day. At the low temperatures paired with 90% humidity, not only did the picture freeze, but also my hands, despite the thick winter clothes. If the nerves initially stung like fine needle pricks, after 20 minutes there was a feeling of numbness in the hands that whitewashed the painful joints. So the recording could continue.

The omnipresent frost gives the motifs clarity. The delicate natural structures around it give the massive structure a certain fragility. With a clear color contrast, the orange sunlight draws the viewer’s attention directly to the beautiful architecture.

By the way, you can find out what role the weather plays in architectural photography in my post “ The best weather for architectural photos ” read.

Interior photography in MERGE

After a cold hour of outdoor shots, I was very happy when I got a feel for my fingers again in the warm interior. The large foyer greets its guests like a rising sun with an intense yellow on the wall. The clear cubic structures of the exterior are also continued in the interior. As an architectural photographer, the lines of sight that emerge from the upper window on the first floor of the foyer were particularly exciting for me.

The yellow color continues as an accent through the public spaces of the administration building. In the photo of the stairwell, this results in a nice contrast with the rough exposed concrete, both in terms of color and structure. The person in the center of the architectural photo gives a relation for the height of the staircase and forms a nice anchor for the viewer’s gaze. Due to COVID-19, most of the university’s employees were in the home office, which is why I was a photographer and model at the same time for some motifs.

From orange to blue - exterior photography in the evening

At the end of the day, the building revealed another peculiarity of its location. Due to the raised building site and a wide open space in the southwest of the TU MERGE, the house is illuminated to the last rays of the setting sun. A rarity for a building in urban areas!

The low sun results in long, dark shadows paired with shiny gold light on the Wings Professional facade of WAREMA . The permeable metal slats allow different amounts of light into the building, depending on requirements. In the architecture photo, the island of closed slats creates an exciting abstract geometry.

The photo shooting from SWECO ended at dawn in the afternoon. The calming evening motifs once again required a lot of effort. Since the lights in the 2nd construction phase are controlled by motion detectors and switch off every 5 minutes, it was necessary to do some stair training to ensure sufficient lighting. With the daylight becoming weaker, the otherwise closed feeling of the west facade opens up and allows a view of the kitchens and conference rooms of the new construction phase. The large bridge crane can now also be seen through the milky glass of the research route.

The TU MERGE research center in Chemnitz is an exciting combination of a functional industrial building and an elegant design object with clear cubic shapes and colors. For me as an architectural photographer, this resulted in an infinite number of exciting compositions that I had to explore. Many thanks to SWECO Architects for this great photo production.


Chemnitz, Architekturfotograf, Forschungszentrum, Industrie, TU, Technische, Universität, Bundesexzelenzcluster, Fotograf Leipzig für Interieur, Exterieur Werbefotografie und Filmproduktionen Chemnitz, Architekturfotograf, Forschungszentrum, Industrie, TU, Technische, Universität, Bundesexzelenzcluster, Fotograf Leipzig für Interieur, Exterieur Werbefotografie und Filmproduktionen

What's behind it

Finding the composition in the foyer of the MERGE of the TU Chemnitz was not difficult. With the clear edges and surfaces, the room gives the architectural photographer clear instructions on how it would like to be photographed. Since the research center has recently only just moved into, there were no major staging challenges. A few information and disinfection stands have been removed. I rearranged the seating groups for the picture so that they comfortably fill the floor. In the image processing I corrected the yellow tone and adjusted it to a consistent tone for the entire building. Here, the mixture of artificial light and daylight almost always falsifies the colors that the camera records. Last but not least, I emphasized the contrasts in the picture even more and removed the blue of the window light from the gray concrete. This creates a consistent style for all interior architectural photos of the project.


To the photo shoot


Customer: SWECO architects
Type: Photo gallery of a completed construction project
Location: Federal Cluster of Excellence MERGE the Technical University of Chemnitz
Location: Chemnitz (Saxony), Germany

Eisige Architekturfotografie am Tor zum Erzgebirge.

Es war mir ein großes Vergnügen die formschöne Umsetzung des Bundesexzellenzclusters MERGE der Technischen Universität Chemnitz fotografieren zu dürfen. Das Design aus der Feder des anerkannten Architektubüros SWECO bietet dem Leichtbautechnologiezentrum der TU Chemnitz ein neues Zuhause. Der Fokus meines Fotoauftrages war der zweite Bauabschnitt mit den Verwaltungsräumlichkeiten als Erweiterung auf der Südseite der Versuchs- und Forschungsstrecken des Campus, die bereits 2015 abgeschlossen wurden.

Chemnitz im Morgenfrost

Es war der erste kalte Wintertag Ende November, als ich mich auf den Weg zur Technischen Universität nach Chemnitz machte. Voller Vorfreude auf das Fotoshooting für den 2. Bauabschnitt des MERGE fuhr ich bei frischen -4°C und unter klarem Himmel der Morgendämmerung entgegen. Mit jedem Kilometer, dem ich mich dem „Tor zum Erzgebirge“ nährte, veränderte sich die Landschaft mehr zu einem monochromen Abbild ihrer selbst. Überdeckt von einer zarten Schicht aus Raureif glitzerten die Halme der Gräser in meinem Scheinwerferlicht.

Mit den ersten Sonnenstrahlen, die auf die Südfassade des Neubaus fielen, stand meine Kamera auf ihrem Stativ und fror das erste Motiv des Tages ein. Bei den niedrigen Temperaturen gepaart mit 90% Luftfeuchtigkeit fror jedoch nicht nur das Bild ein, sondern auch, trotz der dicken Winterkleidung, meine Hände. Stachen die Nerven anfänglich noch wie feine Nadelstiche, ergab sich nach 20 Minuten ein Taubheitsgefühl in den Händen, dass die schmerzenden Gelenke übertünchte. Die Aufnahme konnte also weitergehen.

Der allgegenwärtige Frost verleiht den Motiven Klarheit. Der massige Baukörper erhält durch die zarten natürlichen Strukturen um ihn herum eine gewisse Fragilität. Mit einem klaren Farbkontrast lenkt das orange Sonnenlicht die Aufmerksamkeit des Betrachters direkt auf die wunderschöne Architektur.

Welche Rolle das Wetter in der Architekturfotografie spielt können Sie übrigens in meinem Beitrag „Das beste Wetter für Architekturfotos“ lesen.

Interieurfotografie im MERGE

Nach einer kalten Stunde der Außenaufnahmen freute ich mich sehr, als ich im warmen Interieur wieder ein Gespür für meine Finger erhielt. Wie eine aufgehende Sonne begrüßt das große Foyer seine Gäste mit einem intensivem gelb an der Wand. Die klaren kubischen Strukturen des Exterieurs führen sich auch im Innenraum fort. Als Architekturfotograf waren für mich besonders die Sichtachsen spannend, die sich aus dem Oberfenster im ersten Stock auf das Foyer ergeben.

Die gelbe Farbe setzt sich als Akzent auch durch die öffentlichen Räume des Verwaltungsgebäudes fort. Im Foto des Treppenhauses ergibt sich dadurch sowohl farblich, als auch strukturell ein schöner Kontrast mit dem rauen Sichtbeton. Die Person im Zentrum des Architekturfotos gibt eine Relation für die Höhe des Treppenhauses und bildet einen schönen Anker für den Blick des Betrachters. Auf Grund von COVID-19 waren die meisten Mitarbeiter der Universität im Home Office, weshalb ich bei einigen Motiven Fotograf und Model zugleich war.

Von orange zu blau - Exterieurfotografie am Abend

Zum Ende des Tages offenbarte das Gebäude eine weitere Besonderheit seines Standortes. Durch den erhöhten Baugrund und einer weiten Freifläche im Südwesten des TU MERGE wird das Haus bis zu den letzten Sonnenstrahlen der untergehenden Sonne beleuchtet. Eine Seltenheit für ein Gebäude im urbanen Raum!

Mit der tief stehenden Sonne ergeben sich lange, dunkle Schatten gepaart mit gold glänzendem Licht auf der Wings Professional Fassade von WAREMA. Die permeablen Metall-Lamellen lassen, je nach Bedarf, unterschiedlich viel Licht in das Gebäude. Auf dem Architekturfoto ergibt sich durch die Insel aus geschlossenen Lamellen eine spannende abstrakte Geometrie.

Der Fotoauftrag von SWECO endete mit der frühen Dämmerung schon am Nachmittag. Die beruhigenden Abendmotive bedurften nochmals einiges an Aufwand. Da die Lichter im 2. Bauabschnitt über Bewegungsmelder gesteuert werden und sich alle 5 Minuten ausschalten hieß es noch ein Treppentraining einzulegen um für ausreichend Beleuchtung zu sorgen. Mit dem schwächer werdenden Tageslicht öffnet sich das sonst verschlossene Gefühl der Westfassade und lässt einen Blick auf die Küchen und Konferenzräume des neuen Bauabschnitts zu. Auch der große Brückenkran lässt sich nun durch das milchige Glas der Forschungsstrecke erahnen.

Das Forschungszentrum TU MERGE in Chemnitz ist eine spannende Kombination aus funktionalem Industriegebäude und formschönen Designobjekt mit klaren kubischen Formen und Farben. Für mich als Architekturfotograf ergab sich damit eine unendliche Menge an spannenden Kompositionen, die es zu erkunden galt. Vielen Dank an SWECO Architekten für diese tolle Fotoproduktion.


Chemnitz, Architekturfotograf, Forschungszentrum, Industrie, TU, Technische, Universität, Bundesexzelenzcluster, Fotograf Leipzig für Interieur, Exterieur Werbefotografie und Filmproduktionen Chemnitz, Architekturfotograf, Forschungszentrum, Industrie, TU, Technische, Universität, Bundesexzelenzcluster, Fotograf Leipzig für Interieur, Exterieur Werbefotografie und Filmproduktionen

Was dahinter steckt

Die Komposition im Foyer des MERGE der TU Chemnitz zu finden war nicht schwer. Mit den klaren Kanten und Oberflächen gibt der Raum dem Architekturfotografen klare Anweisungen, wie er fotografiert werden möchte. Da das Forschungszentrum gerade erst bezogen wurde, gab es beim Staging keine großen Herausforderungen. Ein paar Info- und Desinfektionsständer wurden beseitigt. Die Sitzgruppen habe ich für das Bild so umgestellt, dass sie den Boden angenehm ausfüllen. In der Bildbearbeitung habe ich den Gelbton korrigiert und auf einen konsistenten Ton für das gesamte Gebäude angepasst. Hier verfälscht die Mischung aus Kunst- und Tageslicht fast immer die Farben, welche die Kamera aufnimmt. Zu guter Letzt habe ich die Kontraste im Bild noch mehr betont und das Blau des Fensterlichtes aus dem grauen Beton entfernt. So entsteht ein konsistenter Stil für alle Interieur Architekturfotos des Projektes.


Zum Fotoshooting


Kunde: SWECO Architekten
Art: Fotostrecke eines abgeschlossenen Bauprojektes
Location: Bundesexzellenzcluster MERGE der Technischen Universität Chemnitz
Ort: Chemnitz (Sachsen), Deutschland